Food as medicine

Despite my best efforts, I eat pretty crappy. Too much processed junk, too few fruits and veggies, heavy on the sugar, swimming in the diet coke.

Yesterday, I came across this quote and found it pretty affecting:

“The food you eat can either be the safest and most powerful form of medicine or the slowest form of poison.” -Ann Wigmore

I’ve never really thought of junky foods as poison, but that’s exactly what they are. That pizza doesn’t feel as delicious when you think about it as poison. Those vegetables don’t feel as undesirable when they’re carrying vital medicine.

I think, subconsciously, that’s why I started the “crunchy” part of The Crunchy Feminist. I really feel like limiting my impact on this planet and taking responsibility for what goes into my body is an imperative for me at this point in my life.

It’s going to take a bunch of baby steps, but I’m excited for the journey. Thanks for reading along.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment